Fossil fuels, such as coal, oil and natural gas, are the main source for many countries. However, some nations are using alternative energy such as solar power and wind power. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is a public knowledge that fossil fuels supply the main source of energy for a lot of countries. Alternatively, some nations are turning to use only renewable energy like solar and wind power. Personally speaking, I believe that this is a good sign of development since the list of the benefits of this energy is endless.

First of all, the positive effect it has on the environment is extremely significant. While the use of fossil fuels, especially coal emits an immense amount of toxic substances like carbon dioxide into the environment which is the main cause of air pollution, alternative energy is completely clean, thus stopping posing a menace to the environment as well as people’s health. Such respiratory diseases and serious ones like lung cancer, coughing, throat irritation are decreased to a minimum scale due to the little amount of carbon footprint caused by industrial activities relying on coals. Besides, the cost of installing the equipment needed for alternative energy is far more reasonable and releases less pollutants than the processing of generating power from fossil fuels.

Secondly, more clean power is used means more money to be saved. Since the price for creating this energy is low, so does the monthly bill of electricity. Moreover, the governments will directly be the beneficiary when they choose to use solar or wind power as the main source. In detail, the use of fossil fuels may sometimes be interrupted and often depended on the circumstances, whereas alternative energy is ubiquitous so the shortage of electricity will never happen. In addition, this also gives more job opportunities for people as according to the IRENA, employment’s rate has rose from 9.2 million to more than 24 million people in the sector in 2030 which results in the growth of the global economy by 1.3 trillion dollars.

To summarize, with the inexhaustibility and environmental friendliness of alternative energy, I think that this kind of energy will definitely be more developed and prosperous in the near future.