Nowadays plastic money replacements such as credit and debit cards are extremely popular, even more than banknotes and coins.

Credit and debit cards have been gaining in popularity in recent years, gradually replacing the use of cash in many countries. This development involves a great deal of advantages for both the bank users and their countries' economy but has some drawbacks and risks for them as well.

First of all, it is undeniable that cards have changed our life a lot, in a positive way. Everything has become more convenient since the introduction of those cash replacements. For example, they are designed smartly to be big enough to be fixed in our pocket, but not too small for us to find when necessary so that we can carry them everywhere we want and use them whenever we need without worrying about losing them. Besides, they have helped us to save significant amounts of money, instead of going to the shops to pay money and buy our favourite things, we are allowed to do transactions in only 20 seconds, and the packages would be delivered right to our home. Moreover, many policies have been enforced to encourage all citizens to use credit cards so people have been offered discounts when paying through Internet Banking Service, consequently, helping them save much more money too.

On the other hand, using credit cards also includes some disadvantages and risks for individuals. They have to pay an amount for maintaining the validity of their cards every month, which is called card holder money. This is really an annoyance for everyone, especially students, who don't have decent jobs and want to save as much money for their future. Besides, if a bank goes bankrupt, bank users can get only a small amount of their money, or even worse, lose them all. Particularly, in Vietnam, it is not important how much that people have invested in a bank, once it goes bust, the specified compensation is just 50 million VND. What's more, money stored in those cards has the possibility of being stolen from strangers. Despite the strict monitors from the banks, thanks to modern and exquisite tricks, bank robbers can effortlessly get money from the card owners. This problem has occurred in many countries, particularly the underdeveloped and developing ones. Even though robbers were arrested and the banks have been trying very hard to prevent this worry, it is a real nightmare for all bank users.

In conclusion, besides some values that using credit or debit cards have brought to human life, it also involves some drawbacks and threats to people's money. Therefore, the government and bank directors should have some solutions and policies to ensure the benefits of all the card owners.