Some people think that it is good to be ambitious. How important is it to be ambitious? Do you think it’s a good characteristic?

People still remain divided over whether it is good or not to be ambitious. This essay will outline the importance of ambition before listing some rationales to why I support that ambition is necessary to achieving success.

To embark on, in an ingredient of success, ambition plays a key role. Before achieving something, people need to know what they desire and how to stick to their targets, otherwise, they may easily be distracted or demotivated by a lot of deterrent factors. Therefore, ambition plays as a driving force that assists them to the final destination. To be more specific, top businessmen in the world such as Jeff Bezos or Warren Buffet always nurture an intense ambition in their head, which drives them to work, achieve and innovate more in order to reach the goal. Take Steve Jobs as another example, he once said that “The people who are crazy enough to think that they can change the world are the one who do” and as we can see, he founded and ran the most powerful technological conglomerate in the world- Apple.

There are some pronounced merits that prove ambition as a crucial characteristic in one’s life. As I have mentioned before, no one can attain their target if it were not for a healthy dose of ambition. That is to say, ambitious people never dread the thought of taking risks and involving in bold actions. Consequently, they lead a worthy life without disorientation, depression or regrets that coward people can only dream of. However, it can act as a deterrent to one’s satisfaction and happiness since they always desire more and become greedier that nothing can make them fully delighted. Therefore, ambition is only advantageous if people know how to take control of it instead of being manipulated by its tremendous power.

In conclusion, despite potential adverse effects, I believe that ambition is essential and paves a shorter way to success. However, it lets people enjoy a feeling of victory only if they make the best out of it.