Nowadays plastic money replacements such as credit and debit cards are extremely popular, even more than banknotes and coins.

On a positive side, plastic money replacements have maximized the security and convenience of payments. Since all the paying processes are now through credit or debit cards, people no longer have to calculate the change or carry too much money along with them. In the past , people often brought a huge amount of money in their purse worrying that they might be robbed or lose it somewhere. However, it has completely changed now as all they need to do is to display a portable card that takes only 3 seconds to finish paying for their meal at a restaurant or a bill at a supermarket. Furthermore, this type of money allows people to buy houses or cars and pay back later following a fixed period. This also means that people are able to purchase the most essential possessions (shelter, vehicles, etc) with 0% interest charged.

Despite all its enormous benefits, there are some certain drawbacks in terms of plastic money. Firstly, private information of individuals is often leaked out by the banks. This elucidates why after they register to open a credit or debit card, they frequently receive loads of advertising calls from unknown numbers. Moreover, the likelihood of one being stuck in debt is relatively high since debit cards often offer a free expenditure under the provision of users paying back monthly. Therefore, people who encounter over expenditure are likely to find themselves being in debt with interest rate increasing accumulatively month by month.