Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on the society. Others deny that these factors have any significant influence on people's behaviour. What is your opinion?

Lots of people are now colliding with each other over the impact of television and computer games. On one side, they fiercely disapprove the content of TV and computer games as it has a detrimental effect on the society while the other side repudiates the idea of its influence on people’s behavior. From my perspective, I share the view that TV and computer games obviously do harm to the society, especially the young generation who spend most of their time watching or playing them.

First of all, a lot of clashes or vicious attacks among groups of people evidently originates from the action on TV and video games. Such kinds like action movie, action game or thrillers have temptingly encouraged people to imitate, especially the teenagers who are still indiscriminate and impulsive. Moreover, this can have a pernicious influence on children whose parents constantly watch TV and become neglectful of the presence of their progeny. For instance, the Blue Whale Challenge dated back to 2014 was created to dare to accept its series of tasks. The mission which at first seemed innocuous turned out to be lethal and its last challenge required people to commit suicide. As a result, lots of teenagers ended up self-harming or some even gave up their life to the deadly game. This proves the powerful impact of the mass media on people , thus posing a real threat to the society as a whole and each individual itself.

Second, the content of TV and digital games are sometimes incongruous and delusive but thousands of people believe it unskeptically. The life of a person in a movie broadcasted on TV is glorious and flawless which illustrates everyone’s dream of a luxury lifestyle. However, those are just movies or scientific created to attract people’s interest and attention. As a result, it doesn’t help them to achieve their goals but to let them daydreaming about something unrealistic. The same happens in video games, people spend ages trying to increase their levels to achieve non-existed prizes instead of hitting the books to become more knowledgeable. Taking myself as an example, I was once addictive to the dream of being as beautiful as a model I saw on the TV whose hair is smooth and skin is flawless. It had taken me years before I was disillusioned by the fact that perfection didn’t exist and that models were just an elaborate picture being created to gain money from people.

In conclusion, as the media grows at fast-paced speed, people should be more aware of the influence of Tv and video games as they can more or less affect people’s behavior.