Ppeople are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less

Modern conditions1 such as diabetes and related health problems are probably associated with the upward trend towards consuming sugary drinks2 on a daily basis. Two of the main causes will thus be explored, and light will be shone on one possibly effective measure to deal with this consumption.

Appetite seems to be the most important factor contributing to this increasing tendency3. It has been customary for decades for sugar-based beverages2 to be an indispensable part of modern life, ranging from parties and ceremonies to even small daily snacks. It is now not unusual to see soft drinks nearly everywhere on earth4.

Another essential causal factor is hospitality as a social etiquette. Many people are not really interested in sweet drinks, but when they are welcomed with such drinks, they find it hard to reject them. Simply saying no might hurt the host5.

For the aforesaid reasons, the best solution is to make an effort to change this drinking habit. Challenging as it is, we have to figure out how to do so. Suddenly stopping this practice would be impractical, so it would be advisable to advocate the reduction of sugar amounts in drinks and gradually replacing them with sugar-free drinks is not impossible.

In conclusion, whether people are fond of drinking sugary beverages or not, everyone needs to be aware of the danger of diabetes and related problems. It is time they halted and adopted a heathier habit. Although we are still not scientically sure of what causes diabetes6, it is safer and wiser not to consume too much sugar.