With the pressures on today’s young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past decades, what subjects that young students should learn at school has never failed to draw public attention and provoke debates. Some people claim that school should cut out all non-academic subjects to give children more time to concentrate on academic subjects. However, I believe that the combination of non-academic subjects and academic subjects will benefit students more than focussing only one kind of them.

There are many reasons to include non-academic subjects in the curriculum. Firstly, non-academic subjects will provide many practical skills, which enable students to have a good grasp of life. For instance, enrolling cookery class will help teenagers familiar with the kitchen and all the tools so that it is easier for them to take care of themselves in term of cooking when they live far from their family. Also, learning these subjects is essential for the overall development of children and allow finding out talents. Those that join an arts-related class could potentially become writers, poets or playwrights, for example, and thus contribute to society in a cultural form.

Admittedly, there is the point that knowledge gained from the academic subject is more likely valuable to prepare for the competitive job market. Normally, people with broad knowledge will have more opportunities to gain success. The more time students spend to focus on academic subjects the more chances they will get better degrees when they are graduated from universities. As a result, they will easily find a good job with many promotions on their work. However, we must admit that there are many people are having success without academically minded.

To sum up, there is no point is eliminating non-academic subjects from the syllabus. In my opinion, to form the best education system, we should provide students with a variety of topics in the curriculum, which are academic subjects and non-academic too.