Many young people choose to take a year off between finish school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life like this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extend do you agree or disagree ?

It is widely acknowledged that more and more youngsters are being told to take a gap year in many countries these days before moving to tertiary education. From my point of view, traveling or working for a year have both beneficial and detrimental consequences needed carefully considerations.

On the one hand, teenagers who spend an entire year for working could gain a lot of valuable experiences that could not be found in academic courses or universities. Additionally, the youngsters will have more opportunities to figure out their special gifts as well as discover their real passion, which will have a big impact on the decisions on their future career orientations. For example, my aunt took a gap year before going to the university, during that period she worked as an English Teaching Assistant in a class for indigent children. Thanks to that precious experience, she realized her real passion for teaching and soonly became a successful English teacher. Moreover, young people could learn about the true value of money when they make it by themselves instead of continuing receiving allowances from parents which can build independent trait. All these benefits given above could immensely support teenagers’ learning processes after a year-off.

On the other hand, there are some cons when post-graduated high school students may have when taking a year off. The first disadvantage may relate to the disruption of educational processes that leads to significantly bad results when students forget nearly almost their academic pieces of knowledge.For example, many majors concentrating on structures or formulas seem more difficult for them after a gap year and requiring a long time for revising and restructuring. Another drawback is that young people who travel or work for a year will take more time than the others in terms of getting the qualifications after graduating. Nowadays, there are tons of opportunities for people who graduated with diplomas so it is faster for them to get to higher positions in the future.

To sum up, there are pros and cons of traveling or working for a whole year before going to higher education. In my opinion, I believe that it is superb for the youngster to travel to remote regions and do volunteer works to perform real life as well as enhance soft-skills.