Developing and buying medicine is expensive and some believe that money should be better spent onn preventing disease from arising in the first place. I do not side with them on this notion. It would be a mistake to focus only on prevention as there will always be diseases to treat and spending money on the research as well as development of medicines is likely to lead to more effective preventative measures.

Preventative actions do not always stop illness from occuring. One glance at the healthy living section of a book store shows that there are various opposing opinions on what to do to keep illness away. For instance, smoking is an identified cause of lung cancer but choosing not to smoke does not guarantee that one will not develop lung cancer forever because the cancer still occurs in non-smokers due to other reasons like air pollution. So, although it is undeniable that preventative measures increase chances of a healthy life, they will never ensure a disease free world.

Instead, to continue funding the research and development of medicines has been proved to better our understanding of the the cause as well as the prevention of a disease. If scientists keep looking for ways to fight and treat sicknesses, they are more likely to find better ways to stop such disease from occuring. For example, while searching for ways to cure a cold, experts discovered that frequent hand cleaning was an effective way to avoid catching diseases but, prior to science, it was mistakenly believed that sheltering from cold wind would keep the virus away. Though it is true that it takes a great deal of money to develop new medicines, it should not be ignored that such investments also lead to more informed methods for keeping people healthy.

In conclusion, prevention goes far in improving people's health condition and reducing suffering but we still are not certain that these methods work for all. Hence, constant investment into research and treatment is always crucial.