Scientists believe that the earth will become uninhabitable by 2050 due to the extensive damage being done to the environment by humans. While some people assert that nothing can be done to alleviate the negative impact on the Natural World, I strongly argue that several measures can be taken to solve the problem.

The main reason why pessimists deem environmental restoration impossible is the population growth. It seems sensible to a certain extent, as the growth of global population is to inevitably result in a boosting demand of arable land for producing crops, grassland for feeding livestock, and land for building new settlements. Considering the severe land saturation in the contemporary world, deforestation is going to be more common with a heavy price of increasing extinction of plants and animal species whose habitat has been in woodland for thousands of years. What is worse, such is human nature that people would sacrifice environment for the benefits of their own development, especially under such great pressure of survival. Hence, in the view of those opponents, any attempt to reverse this situation is thought in vain.

However, activists proclaim that numerous steps can be taken to protect our planet from further damage and I am firmly convinced that it is never too late to do so. For instance, government is to play a significant role in this international campaign by launching new environmental laws and regulations to control environmental degradation, cut deforestation and deter reckless exploitation of natural resources. In the last decade, one typical example for the governments of any country—rich or poor is Brazil government who has achieved reducing deforestation in Amazon by 70% compared to the average level in 1996-2005, making zero deforestation by 2020—or even sooner—a feasible goal, regardless of its negative impact on economic growth. In addition, the next step in fighting bio-diversity loss is to raise awareness on the reality that some of our activities have left destructive harm on this planet, and will bring disastrous consequences on the whole eco-system. Educational campaigns, like TV programs or public advertisements can be useful to refrain people from ‘slaughtering’ those valuable species without end. In this way, people may be more conscious of the environment to prevent their next generation from being faced with a global resource scarcity.

To conclude, I definitely maintain that the public cannot stand idly by. Instead, governments and individuals can do several things to stop human activity that has damaging effects on our planet.