It is clear to see that we are increasingly surrounded by booming advertising by companies that want to sell us their products, and this phenomenon is believed only to grow. To some extent I agree that advertising has an impact on sales, but I would also argue that we do need most of the goods that we buy.

Advertisements can certainly tempt people to buy products that they might not otherwise want. A good example could be the mobile phone. Every year people can be seen queuing to buy the latest models, even when they already have a perfectly good phone that does not need replacing. Perhaps it is the marketing influence that leads us to make these kinds of decisions; we want to stay up to date with the latest fashions or own the newest high-status device. The high sales of the iPhone seem to support this idea.

On the other hand, I believe that most people do not buy products because of the advertising alone. There are other good reasons why we make these choices, and there must be some kind of need before a person makes a purchase. New versions of products almost always have improved features that buyers may want. A new car, for example, may have greatly improved safety features, or it may be more economical to run, or it may pollute less. A new phone is to be equipped with more advanced hardware and technology, allowing the user to operate and communicate more quickly or effectively, thus enhancing their quality of life. Sometimes a new good is needed simply because the old one has reached its final phase of its life circle.

In conclusion, while advertising has certain influence on our buying behaviour, I do not agree that people make decisions that totally go against their real needs.