In this knowledge-oriented society, top priority has been given to higher education due to its significance in individual growth and social progress. Under this circumstance, an absolute consensus can hardly be reached whether students with high marks or those did not do well in the school are qualified for the entrance to the university. I will make an objective analysis of this argument in my following essay。

Some people harbour the belief that best students by all means should have the qualification to enter the university on the grounds that they make much more efforts than other peers in the schooling. These top players will gain a stronger sense of self-motivation to reach a higher goal in the years to come and also set a good example for other students.

However, others maintain that students who do not achieve better scores but have wonderful performance in overall development or specialise in one specific field. After all, higher education does not solely focus on a few straight-A students. Instead, universities should recruit comprehensive talents rather than bookworms who concentrate on academic knowledge alone. Undoubtedly, the former are the backbone required by contemporary society.

From my own perspective, I side with the stance of the latter to a larger extent, believing that superior performance in academic study must be a crucial factor to evaluate the qualification of a student who can enter the university, but more all-round standards should be adopted. This is because the university is the place which can provide high-quality talents for the society. Apart from high scores, other qualities such as teamwork spirit, interpersonal skills, organizing ability and speciality in one field are of equal importance in enrollment standards.