In this knowledge-oriented society, top priority has been given to higher education due to its significance in individual growth and social progress. Under this circumstance, an absolute consensus can hardly be reached whether both students with high marks or those did not do well in the school are qualified for the entrance to a university. I will make an objective analysis of this argument in my following essay.

Some people harbour the belief that best students by all means should have the qualification to enter the university. This is probably true on the grounds that they tend to make much more efforts than other peers in the schooling, which is likely to result in more academic achievements or a higher QS World University Rankings. Besides, these top players who usually gain a stronger sense of self-motivation to reach a higher goal in the years to come can be also set as role models for other students, called ”Catfish Effect”.

However, others maintain that students who do not achieve satisfactory scores but have decent performance in overall development or specialise in one specific field should never be excluded. It is the fact that despite a growing number of university graduates, the gap between the backbone talents required by contemporary society and the vast graduates produced by university is still growing. They ascribe such gap to the discrimination of modern universities where straight-A students are to be solely focused. Instead, they suggest universities should recruit comprehensive talents rather than bookworms alone as the former, with valuable qualities such as teamwork spirit, interpersonal skills, organizing ability and speciality in one field, are more likely to make contribution to society.

From my own perspective, I side with the stance of the latter to a larger extent, believing that more all-round standards other than decent performance in academic study should be adopted by university as enrolment criteria, while academic reputation should by no means be the key target for any higher education insititution.