Some people think that famous people’s support towards international aids organisations draws attention to problems, while other think that celebrities make the problems less important.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

A charitable organization usually assume much of the responsibility for aiding the needy, providing health care, and taking care of the victims of natural disasters and so on. However, whether the assistance from the celebrities has an inspiring role to play has ignited public debate. From my perspective, wonderful as celebrity effect seems, they can also be propagandists.

It is reasonable to argue that international charities can take advantage of celebrities’ participation. Evidently, as notable individuals hold the superiorities to draw media attention, it is commonly thought that the famous images can invoke broader recognition of given issues. For this reason, the activities or campaigns of international organisations can be publicised immediately, and the audience, especially adoring fans, are likely to answer the appeal of these celebrities and take concrete actions such as donating money to help deal with problems in other countries.

Nevertheless, I believe it is through rose-coloured spectacles that most advocates look at celebrities’ involvement. The primary reason for my worry is that celebrities’ motives behind their dedication to charity are not always out of love and sympathy. Instead, celebrities may tend to choose the areas with higher exposure rate. One possible consequence is that more media attention may be given to the famous person’s involvement rather than the actual aid organisation, leading to an insufficient consideration on the problem itself. Another concern is that celebrity involvement may mislead the public into confusing endorsement with representation. If a famous person’s image is damaged in the media for a particular reason like being arrested when using drugs, serious repercussions are very likely to occur to the international aid organisation and the crisis it is to solve as people may lose interest in that charity.

In conclusion, though iconic figures may play a positive role in addressing certain social issues, charitable organisations should be very cautious when considering celebrity endorsement.