The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this. To what extend do you agree?

It is sometime argued that government should spend more money in dealing with the pathogen for citizen’s health instead of cure and remedy because of their great importance. In my opinion, I maintain the opinion that government funding should be equally divided between these two policies.

The main reason related to cost-effectiveness in controlling dangerous diseases and health problem. Encouraging people to have regular checkups as well as vaccinations for dangerous infectious sickness really avoids the expensive treatment costs in hospitals. For example, every year, the government regularly organizes vaccination sessions for infants to prevent dangerous diseases such as hepatitis A, Japanese encephalitis,...In this way, not only completely reduces the financial pressure on health care department and their parents, but also the risk of illness for them. Therefore, if people attach importance to disease prevention approach, their quality of life will be much better.

On the other hand, funding for treatment and medicine also plays an essential part in health policies. If the government does not invest in the best disease treatment for serious illness, the quality of life of the people will be affected leading to a reduced life expectancy. For instance, most people with weak immune systems easily get cancer or HIV that require the most advanced and intensive treatment regimens, the best drugs as well as chemotherapy to prolong life. So, the country is responsible for spending money in modern and advanced medical treatments to meet citizen’s demand for medication.

In conclusion, the government needs the effective health investment and reforms policies to balance therapy and preventive methods of pathogenesis in order to gain support from the public.