Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that the youngsters had better be encouraged to take part in volunteer social activities during their leisure time because it can be advantageous for both them and the whole community. In my point of view, in spite of positive impacts of unpaid work in society, I maintain that we should not support this opinion.

To begin with, the idea of do unpaid community work is beneficial for adolescents and all society because of several reasons. First of all, many young people have tendency to voluntarily help the community aiming to improving social skills. This is because when joining in social activities, they are able to work and interact with many people that help to develop their communication and teamwork skills as well the ability to integrate and adapt in different social environments. Furthermore, teenager’s volunteer services enhance the humaneness in community. For instance, in 2010, the number of crimes, robberies and sexual harassments in India were eliminated after ten years by volunteer works during grade 12 in schools in this country.

On the other hand, I believe that if the young people are forced to do unpaid word, it will reduce their work performance. It is because when the work is free, there is a lack of motivation as well as efforts among volunteers. This also creates negative psychology such as antipathy for the youngsters, affecting work efficiency of social organizations. For example, many children are devastated when they interact with the deprived segment of the society and sometimes this leads to serious cognitive issues like depression and phobia of meeting new people.

To sum up, although unpaid community service is a considerable act, teenagers should not be forced to engage in it until they are ready because it can exposes them to have a negative view of real society. Therefore, it is advisable that besides social work, the young people should participate in other activities to help them develop holistically.