Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

In modern society, it is an argument that the majority of food purchased from food stores and restaurants are thrown away because of people’s wasting habit. The considerable reason is because of excessive buying of food products. However, I believe food wastage should be reduced significantly by the government.

To begin with, one primary reason behind the problem is that people are influenced by the popular throwaway culture that tends to hesitate to throw out delicious meals. Cuisine’s deliciousness and promotions make people buy more eatables than they need without thinking about the exact quantity. For example, Chinese wastes about 18 million tons of food each year which is enough to feed about 30 to 50 million citizens per year. According to a result of the report by the Chinese Institute of Agricultural Sciences, a large amount of wasted food comes from restaurant services.

In order to tackle this problem, raising community’s awareness of food’s importance by the government policies is desirable. The countries should be responsible for educated residents about effective strategies to avoid wasting food in large quantities as well practical ways to reshape buying habits. Furthermore, the policies should also focus on expanding incentives to food donations. For instance, during the covid-19 pandemic, the US government strengthens liability protections, clarifying guidelines for how to donate leftovers efficiently and to create alternative market channels, such as the Farmers to Families Food Box program.

In conclusion, the long-lasting food-wasting behavior in people has been largely contributed by the throw-away culture that can be minimized by sufficient national control. However, I predict that joining hands of the community and the government will gradually eliminate this problem in the near future.