Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Do you agree or disagree.

In recent decades, the crime rate has been increasing over the world, causing some public controversy. Although some argue that prison is the best way in dealing with offenders, meanwhile a considerable number of people think that the improvement on education is

more effective to solve this problem. I completely disagree with this view, because I believe that both ways have their own fundamental benefits and should play a vital role in reducing crime simultaneously.

On the one hand, I would assert that prison is effective in dealing with criminals.

The first reason is that an individual who commits a crime must learn that illegal actions have consequences. For example, murderers and rapists must be sentenced to an overabundance of years in jail because of their behaviors.

This means they need to know that they will face loss of liberty, social isolation and disconnection from their families and friends if they do such a wrongdoing. Another reason is that when terrible offenders are behind bars, they no longer a hazard to community and residents can walk in the streets or be in their own house safely. On the other hand, I consider that education also plays a complementary role to reduce the crime level. Firstly, adolescents should be taught about features of the law which influence on their lives. Having a wide range of knowledge about legislation, those youngsters are prepared finer to keep away from situations which may involve them in an offensive way to become a victim. For example, students must learn the essential laws about driving or road safety. Meanwhile, behind prison-bars, education programs must aim to provide prisoners with skills and qualifications to find work and reintegrate back into society when they are released.

In conclusion, I believe that not only equipping knowledge for citizens is a practical measure to control illegalities and prevent it from happening. But also governments should take steps to improve their educational system in order to solve the problem of crime. In addition, nonetheless, prison is the best punishments to be given to an offender for some major crimes like abduction, smuggling, raping, so on