public transport

In modern time, public transport ought to be financed by the authorities in order to make it free for users. To a certain extent, I agree with this view, while I also believe there are far more arguments to disagree with it.

From an overall perspective, this opinion seems to be reasonable simply because free public transport would be an effective way to tackle traffic congestion and the environment nowadays. To illustrate, owning to the availability of free travelling options, more people would stop use cars and motorbikes for saving. Thus, this would be able to reduce the level of traffic jam as well as air pollution that be caused by private vehicles in many crowded cities.

In spite of the arguments above, I also argue against this view for the following reasons. The first argument is that this would increase the burden of the taxpayer. Take an example, in my country, where public transport projects require heavy investment to complete due to the weakness of infrastructure. Therefore, citizens should pay more taxes to compensate for higher funding demand. Then, it would lead to them facing more financial problems. Equally important is that free transport would cause overcrowded problems, if there are a large number of citizen choose public transport to move to work or study every day. Consequence, with impairing quality of service. The government should pay more labor and maintenance cost to run these transport systems sufficiently.

In conclusion, although I recognize possible arguments to accept this view, there are also persuasive reasons to believe that this idea is unreasonable.