Public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free for people who use it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, transportation is always a concerning trend to most countries in the world. Therefore, it is often argued that the government should allocate the budget to transportation in order to let people use it free of charge. Personally, I do not advocate this notion and in this essay, I will explain my reason.

On the one hand, it is understandable why people would love to have free access to public transportation. To begin with, using individual vehicles such as cars and motorbikes could have a huge negative impact on the environment due to the polluted emission that was exhausted from those vehicles. Secondly, unexpected accidents would happen not only because of the behavior of the drivers, but also the number of commuters using private transportation. As a result, if many people traverse by public vehicles, all the problems about the environment as well as the traffic accidents would be lessened considerably.

On the other hand, the requirement for the government to give free public transportation might be unfeasible due to several reasons. To commence, it is obvious that in order to meet the demand of the citizens, the government has to invest a huge amount of state money in operating public transportation every day. However, this approach would not last for long as the budget would dwindle swiftly. Moreover, the government needs taxes from people so as to remain its sustainability. Therefore, it would be impractical for the government to give its huge investment to free public transport.

In conclusion, although it could have certain detriments for people to use the private vehicle, it would be impossible for the government to cut all costs for public transportation.