It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As a student, studying history about my country is an indispensable part of the school’s curriculum, and I believe that studying about my local history can bring several benefits. First and foremost, local history would help young learners know what had happened in the past and the sacrifice of their citizens. As a result, students could treasure their life and everything they are having now. Moreover, the merit of studying the history of their locality could make them realize their responsibility for saving and promoting the country. Take an example about myself when I study about the history of my country, I could see that learning about it helps me a lot in greatly appreciate with everything around me as well as take pride in my origin. Furthermore, local history also helps me be aware of my bounden duty in preserving and protecting my country.

looking from another angle, learning world history shares equal importance just as a local one. Firstly, learning world history would give students knowledge in how people build and develop their countries, and students could learn from those countries to help their own nation. American history, for example, as we might know that America is the most thriving country in the world, and in order to have this remarkable success Americans were very intelligent when they took advantage of the II world war to sell weapons to other countries. Hence, after the II world war ended, the economy of that country was getting bigger and stronger; finally, it become the most developed country in the world. As we can see when learning American history would help students to learn how that country was developed by selling weapons, and students would take it as a great experience to apply to their country if they were in war again.

In conclusion, I believe that students instead of focusing on local history rather than world history should study both equally because each kind of history has its own advantage in equipping students with a more well-rounded perspective of life.