By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It has been argued that murderers should better be sentenced to life imprisonment rather than capital punishment. From the personal perspective, I totally agree with the opinion for two reasons.

The first reason is that life incarnation is proved to be more humane towards homicide criminals than death penalty. Specifically, if offenders are punished with life imprisonment, the individuals are given the rights to rehabilitate in prisons where they are re-educated and retrained with academic knowledge and work training, thereby allowing them to integrate back into society. In contrast, a large body of evidence indicates that capital punishment is a barbaric and brutal institution which executes human beings without any consideration to prisoners’ inherent rights of rehabilitation and civil liberties given by law.

Second, life sentence is reversible for wrongful convictions while death sentence is not. Unlike other criminal punishments, the death penalty is irrevocable. The death row inmates, who were erroneously charged with murder and already brutally executed by authorities, could never be brought back to life. Meanwhile, for unjustified life imprisonment charges, convicts, if successfully appeal their sentences, would be exornerated, heavily conpensated by the authorities and promptly released into the community.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that life in prison should better be given to murderers in place of capital punishment. The arrguments are that life in prison is a more tolerant and reversible treatment of prisoners while death penalty is cruel and irrevocable process against them. It is crucial that nations around the world promulgate the abolition of death penalty for the enhancement of prisoners’ and humans’ rights.