By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It has been argued that murderers should better be sentenced to life imprisonment rather than capital punishment. From the personal perspective, I totally agree with the opinion for two reasons.

First, life incarnation is proved to be more humane towards homicide criminals than death penalty. With life imprisonment, the individuals are given the rights to atone for his offence and move towards rehabilitation in prison where they are re-educated and reatrained with academic knowledge and work training. If convicted persons show signs of behavioral improvements, enforement officers might even consider early release. In contrast, a large body of evidence indicates that capital punishment is a barbaric and brutal institution which executes human beings without any regard to prisoners’ inherent rights of rehabilitation and civil liberties given by law.

Second, life sentence is reversible for wrongful convictions against murderers while death sentence is not. Unlike other criminal punishments, the death penalty is irrevocable. This means that the death row inmates, who were erroneously charged with murder and already brutally executed by authorities, could no longer be brought back to life. Meanwhile, for unjustified life imprisonment charges, convicts, if successfully appeal their sentences, would be exornerated, heavily conpensated by the authorities and promptly released into the community.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that life in prison should better be given to murderers in place of capital punishment. The arrguments are that life in prison is a more tolerant and reversible treatment of prisoners while death penalty is cruel and irrevocable process against them. It is crucial that nations around the world promulgate the abolition of death penalty for the enhancement of prisoners’ and humans’ rights.