The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Road safety has been highlighted as an emerging issue in recent decades due to an exponential increase in traffic fatalities from automobile vehicles. Although the prevalent suggestion emphasizing the imposition of stricter punishments on driving offenses can be feasible, I partially agree since other measures are proved to be more effective.

On the one hand, it is true that harsher sanctions on driving violations could increase road safety. Specifically, lawmakers could promulgate more rigorous administrative condemnations or even categorize some driving offenses as criminal acts, any drivers’ intentions of driving recklessly would be subject to self-resconsideration since the legal liabilities are extremely burdensome. For example, in Vietnam where driving under the influence is the leading cause for road accidents, the central government have adopted the new policy, raising the administrative penalties to 5000$ for any activities of drunk driving and 10000$ for driving under recreational drugs, making Vietnam’s road fatality rate drop by 15% the following year.

On the other hand, more effective solutions could be implemented for the betterment of road safety. First, by official authorities employing more intensive driver education programmes following with real-time driving practices with qualified instructors and simultaneously eliminating corrupted driving test supervisors, driving license holders would be outfitted with proper traffic code, vehicle operation knowledge, instructional driving strategies compatible with various weather conditions and driver impairments. In fact, in Vietnam, drivers often bribe test supervisors for qualification without class attendance, making the increase in the number of unqualified and uneducated drivers an inevitable product, worsening the perennial road accident issues. In addition, if motor manufacturers could integrate artificial intelligence technologies with advancements sensors such as lane departure warnings, blind spot warning system and automatic braking, which are synchronized with human controls, safety innovations could be ensured, thereby reducing significant traffic accidents in the future.

In conclusion, in order to improve road safety, it is not enough to be tough on traffic crimes by punishing more harshly those who violate the law. A range of road safety measures should accompany harsher driving penalties.