Q : In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Recently, the question of how to spend public money has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that improving current public transport systems should take precedence over building new, faster railway lines for bullet trains, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that the government should allocate public funds to establishing bullet train lines do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the advent of these lines could facilitate the nationwide transport of goods and passengers. To be more specific, not only can people with relatives in other parts of the country meet each other with greater ease, but parcels can also be delivered quickly. Furthermore, the introduction of bullet train lines can lead to a boom in domestic tourism, invigorates economic growth in regional areas and as a result, local residents are able to have an improved standard of living.

My opinion, however, is that more emphasis should be placed on upgrading existing public transport systems than erecting railway lines for bullet trains. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that local public transport plays an important role in people's daily life considering that a multitude of citizens make use of it on a regular basis in order to commute to and from work. In addition, an astronomical sum of money is required to set up bullet train lines and facilities, which imposes a heavy burden on the masses because they have to be charged a huge amount of tax money for new public transport systems. As an illustration, one recent study conducted by the government of China has demonstrated that the amount of tax money dedicated to setting up new bullet train lines is predicted three times higher than updating current transport systems. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that ameliorating existing public transport should be prioritised for the reasons discussed above.