Q1. Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the issue of converting green spaces near the central area of the city into residential buildings has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that superseding eco-friendly facilities close to the city centre, such as gardens and parks, by housing estates in order to reduce time dedicated to commuting to and from work should be encouraged, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that people should not remove environment-friendly amenities near the city centre in order to build apartments do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that having gardens and parks makes it possible for working adults to take a rest that helps them unwind during their lunchtime with greater ease. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for gardens and parks near the CBD, a multitude of employees would have difficulty in alleviating the level of stress, exerting a detrimental influence on their work performance.

My opinion, however, is that it is an effective way of combating a high volume of traffic to transform eco-friendly places close to the city centre into skyscrapers that accommodate a myriad of citizens. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that if numerous working people residing near their workplaces travel to work by foot or bike, other dwellers in suburban areas would be less likely to suffer from traffic congestion. This is because the number of personal vehicles on roads would remarkably decrease, leading the masses to have an improved standard of living. Moreover, depriving commuters of less time allocated to travel to work enables them to concentrate more on occupations. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that destroying green places close to the city business district and establishing housing areas are necessary for the reasons discussed above.