Q1: Some people think that the best way to reduce time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city centre with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the issue of converting green spaces into residential areas has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that superseding eco-friendly facilities close to the city centre, such as gardens and parks, by residential buildings in order to reduce time devoted to commuting to and from work should be encouraged, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that people should not remove environment-friendly amenities near the central area of the city so as to erect apartment blocks do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that having gardens as well as parks makes it possible for working adults to take a rest helping them unwind during their lunchtime with greater ease. In addition, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for parks and gardens for employees, they would have difficulty alleviating the level of stress, which can even exert a detrimental influence on their work performance.

My opinion, however, is that it is an effective way of combating a high volume of traffic to substitute skyscrapers accommodating citizens for green places near the central business district. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that if a multitude of workers residing close to the CBD travel to their workplace by foot or bike, other dwellers in suburban areas would be less likely to suffer from traffic congestion, making it possible for the masses to have an improved standard of living. This is because the number of personal vehicles on roads would remarkably decrease. Moreover, depriving working people of less time dedicated to travel to work enables them to focus more on their occupations. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that destroying green areas near the city centre and establishing housing estates are necessary for the reasons discussed above.