Q7 Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time To what extent do you agree or disagree

Recently, the impact of average working time on the economy has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that longer working hours can stimulate economic growth, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that countries where citizens devote a huge amount of time to work are more likely to boost economic success. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that there are some nations experiencing economic progress which were less developed in the past. As an illustration, according to an article released by the Seoul Times, the economy of South Korea has remarkably flourished for the last four decades considering that the figures for its gross domestic products have soared more than 20 times. In fact, it turns out that the main reason for this phenomenon is the longest working time in South Korea amongst OECD countries.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that having longer working hours is the sole way to invigorate economic growth. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that although a multitude of countries, including Australia and New Zealand, have never forced the masses to spend a great deal of time on work, they are still wealthy. This is because they earn astronomical sums of money by selling numerous raw materials, such as crude oil and gas, in the global market. Thus, they have never had the same urgent need for longer working hours, unlike a number of emerging countries suffering from a lack of natural resources. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.