Question: Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news. Do you agree or disagree?

Newspapers have been around with us for over a century. Until recently, many people relied on daily papers for their news. However, nowadays many people get their news online. It is believed by some people that conventional newspapers will continue to be the major source of news no matter how many people are accessing the Internet. From my perspective, I totally disagree with this belief.

There are several compelling reasons why online news has seen an enormous increase in popularity. First, since in this digital age, the Internet can provide people with up-to-the-minute news as it happens, it is a more convenient and faster way to read news. For example, there are a large number of online websites like CNN which offer readers access to the latest news 24 hours a day everyday. Second, because online news is virtual, it can be easily updated or changed. This means that if there is anything new about a story, readers do not have to wait for the next issue to learn about it.

By contrast, the obvious drawbacks of newspapers are their monetary and environmental costs. Since there is a variety of freely available news on the Internet, newspaper publishers are now facing the reality of falling circulation figures. Consequently, even some famous papers such as The Guardian or The New York Times have to resort to providing news online alongside the conventional print editions to make a profit. Another reason for this downward trend is related to the environment. There is increasing public concern about deforestation caused by the paper industry. As a result, many people see online news as a greener alternative.

In conclusion, due to the convenience of online news, I think that newspapers are set to become less favourable.