Reading fiction is more pleasurable than watching movies. Do you agree?

It it generally believed that reading and books are more beneficial than watching movies. I cannot agree more with this statement, considering all benefits provided by reading books.

First of all, books represent the roots of our society and education. Literature is not just a way to relax and to enjoy a perfect day, but to achieve knowledge and to develop as a person. Through books, we can improve our vocabulary, our spontaneous thinking and our arguments. Reading is much more important when it comes to children, because childhood is the time when we start to create our own mindset and a good influence in this period can create a good person later. Moreover, reading improves a plethora of skills, such as writing, reading and even thinking and speaking more coherently, things that are imperative for a successful career.

Secondly, there are no limits of imagination when you read a book. Movies are made to show everything, while books let you portray the characters and the place. In this way, you are more involved in the action and everything is happening in your own mind, not in front of your eyes. Thus, reading is more pleasurable because it makes you feel like you are part of the action, while in a movie you are just a part of the audience. It is obvious that movies have their advantages, for example they take less time, because the action is hurried, but the benefits of reading tip the balance in its favor.

To conclude, I support the fact that reading is a more enjoyable activity and a perfect way to improve your skills, even though I do not deny the advantages of watching a movie instead of reading a book.