In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

In recent times, there have been some remarkable changes in terms of the household living arrangement and also the role of the family. Although there is a host of evolution in the family arrangement which in turn creates many advantages and drawbacks, from my perspective, the negative aspects of this trend outweigh the optimistic changes.

On the one hand, it is apparent to see that nowadays, people tend to live in a household that has two married parents and children, compared to the past when the most ubiquitous type of living arrangement was extended family. This nuclear family type evolving is synonymous with family roles changing noticeably. Over the past decade, women’s educational attainment and labor force participation has surged remarkably. Thus, there are several positive changes forming such as financial stability. This can be improved as there is more than one family member working on a daily basis. And as a result of this, the living standard can be developed to fully accommodate the needs of each family member.

On another hand, the changes in the family living arrangements can be more pessimistic and damaging than their perks. One of the most remarkable problems that a two-parent family structure can create is the lack of emotional support for children. Because the working conditions required the father and mother to commute to their office from nine to five, small offsprings who stay at home during that time can feel lonely and isolated. Moreover, if the person who takes care of the young children is careless, many unwanted incidents can happen. For that reason, the changes in terms of family structure can be negative.

Another reason why the evolving of household arrangements can be detrimental is that the emotional connection between the grandparents and grandchildren can be worsened. It is undeniable that in order to maintain and bolster relationships between those two generations, frequent visits and interactions play a pivotal role. However, when children live with their parents, the chances for them to see their grandparents are low. And throughout the time, with rare visits and the growth procedure of teenagers, the relationship with their grandparents can negatively develop.

To conclude, although there have been several changes in the structure and roles of family, the changes that occurred from that trend are mainly pessimistic.