In recent times there is a drastic change within the institute of the family all over the world. Some changes are for the betterment of society whereas few are debatable. This essay is going to shed some light on a few of the changes along with their positive and negative consequences.

There are many changes within the modern family, one of which is an emphasis on working female members. For example, the percentage of the female population that is considered within the working class today is far more than that was in the 19th century. This alteration is definitely considered to be positive in nature as it has seeded the modern values within the community. Another change seen in today's family is better financial literacy among every person of different age groups. Even the adolescent person in the family has better knowledge of handling money which was not the case in earlier times. This empowered the modern family to be stable during the various financial crisis that the world has seen over time.

Although, society is moving ahead with accepting these changes in family roles and structure, there are other changes which have negative ramification to the community. For instance, the number of family members has drastically reduced over the past decade. There might be adverse effects on the economy in the long run as there will be a lesser workforce available at the global level due to the reduction in family member count. Another change that we can see in today's era is the concept of the nuclear family. This idea was a result of younger generation's need of independence by not staying with their old parents. The need for freedom has somewhat negatively impacted the community, as the young generation is not taking care of their dependent parents by staying with them.

At the end, after discussion on various changes that are happening in the family structure and roles we can say some of them are progressive in nature whereas few are having negative impact.