In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the recent times there is a drastic change within the institute of family all over the world. Some changes are for the betterment of the society whereas few are debatable. This essay is going to shed some light on few of the changes along with their positive and negative consequences.

There are many changes within the modern family, one of which is emphasis on working female members. For example, the percentage of female population that is considered with in the working class today is far more than that was in the 19th century. This alteration is definitely considered to be positive in nature as it has seeded the modern values within the community. Another change seen in the todays family is better financial literacy among every person of different age group . Even the adolescent person in the family has better knowledge of handling money which was not the case in earlier times. This empowered modern family to be stable during the various financial crisis which world has seen overtime.

Although, society is moving ahead with accepting these changes in family roles and structure, there are other changes which have negative ramification to the community. For instance, the number of family members has drastically reduced over the past decade. There might be adverse effects on the economy in the long run as there will be lesser work force available at the global level due to the reduction in family member count. Another change that we can see in todays era is the concept of nuclear family. This idea was a result of younger generation's need of independence by not staying with their old parents. The need of freedom has somewhat negatively impacted the community, as the young generation is not taking care of their dependent parents by staying with them.

At the end, after discussion on various changes that are happening in the family structure and roles we can say some of them are progressive in nature whereas few are having negative impact.