In recent years, the family structure has changed as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think this changes are positive or negative?

The changes of family structure and family roles have become a major topic of concern in modern society. Some of the main changes will be identified, before an evaluation on whether this is a positive or negative trend is made.

A few drastic changes could be observed in families today. The most obvious one is the decreased size of an average family in society. In Vietnam, for example, a majority of extended families of three generations or more living under the same roof have been transformed into nuclear families with only parents and children. In addition, there is also a significant change in terms of the roles of the father and the mother in a family. The responsibility of males as the sole breadwinner of the family has now been shared with their partners, and now women have equal working opportunities compared with their male counterparts. Accordingly, household duties are also shared equally between the two sexes.

I contend that this new family structure is without doubt beneficial for all families. As regards the smaller family size, each family member could benefit from an increased sense of freedom. For instance, parents have more time for themselves now, compared with the situation in the past when they had to bear the responsibility for taking care of both grandparents and children. With respect to the change in family roles, women may reap the benefit of having their own career and thus financial freedom. Men also gain from this change since they have been freed from the financial pressure of being the only source of income in the family.

To conclude, the most apparent changes in today’s families include reduced family size and shouldered financial and household responsibility of men and women. All the existing data has provided a concrete foundation that these changes are beneficial for all members of the family.