We must admit that technology has infiltrated in almost all field of life and work. This also means that there are many radical changes in the fields of agriculture too. Lot of technology is used for the improvement of crops. However, this has lead to divided opinions; where a group of people believe that it is essential, while a few others believe that it can be damaging and so we must use the traditional ways of farming. Therefore, before commenting on my decision, both view will be analysed further.

Focussing on the first view, the most important argument the supporters put forward is that of the increasing demand. Due to explosion of the world population within the last century, the traditional methods are largely insufficient to provide food to all, and so the use of technology and the concept of factory farming are welcomed. Besides this, we need more efficient methods of farming. This is because several countries in Asia and Africa suffer from long spell of droughts and famines. This means that people would starve if genetically modified crops are not grown. The innovation implementation have saved many lives. Moreover, the sector of agriculture has less manpower than the past and therefore, technology has proved a boon to intake farming less intensive.

On the other hand, the latter view points out the risks. To begin with, some say that this can pose a serious threat to the health of the individuals and the environment. Many fear that changes in farming methods can diminish the nutritional value of the produce and can be a sources of some may lose its fertility gradually. The other drawback that is considered is that the original species may slowly disappear and this can change aspects such as the taste, color, appearance, and the quality of food.

To conclude and give my opinion, I would support the former opinion more that the latter. Although, there are a few drawbacks, it is a fact that with changes in the farming methods due to technology, the world has definitely become efficient to satisfy the growing demands. However, care should be taken to preserve the original species and the nutritional value in the food.