In recent years, many small local shops have closet because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Recently, many shopping centers have opened in many areas, as a result of which small shop closures have become very common. While it is true that the trend towards the small shops closing and shopping malls opening more often brings some problems, in my view, this is a change for the better overall.

The drawbacks that come with small shop closures in the area are clear to see. First of all, local residents who own and run shops have inevitably lost their jobs. As a result, there are very few job opportunities available in many neighborhoods. In addition, local people are already having difficulties making instant purchases, as there are no shops open close to their homes. However, this troubles are temporary and not very significant.

Having said that, this development benefits society more than it harms. The number-one advantage is that big shopping malls offer a wider range of products than small shops. That is to say, these huge stores tend to have sections dedicated to each product with different variety, whereas small stores offer only the most common items. Secondly, products available in shopping centers tend to be cheaper than their small shop counterparts. This is because, big malls often buy items in bulk , thus lowering their costs. Therefore, it can be argued that the benefits we get from these centers are greater.

To sum up, despite some minor problems, such as short-term loss of jobs and challenges of buying items instantaneously, I believe the increase in the number of shopping malls has brought enormous benefits for consumers. Thus, we should oppose this change.