In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Lately, more people prefer to read digital books than printed ones. As this will be more environmentally friendly and efficient to carry, a better life overtakes the demerits.

People choose to read e-books as it is considered as it is safer for the environment. By digitalizing books, there will be less paper printed, leading to less tree logging. Although it is good for the environment, people are prone to suffer eyesight problems due to staring at screens for too long. However, this can be tackled by using advanced screen technology that protects the eyes from blue light. For instance, the survey done by Greenpeace in 2019 found that there was an increase in tree logging numbers for up to 10% in Indonesia after the authority came up with the regulation of putting school compulsory books in digital.

Efficiency while commuting is also the main reason why people choose e-books over paper books. As all books are put into one portable device, their bags would be more lightweight. Even though it is more efficient to only bring one device, there is still a threaten for a pickpocket to steal and make all the books disappear. Nevertheless, this issue can be solved by inventing cloud storage for e-books that enables users to access their e-books from a different device. For example, a study conducted by Amazone Kindle in 2020 towards 300 high school students in Oklahoma found that they were more comfortable carrying an e-book to a school than the printed one as it makes their bag feels lighter.

To conclude, having to be more environmentally friendly and efficient to carry are the plus points of for people choosing e-books rather than the printed ones. It is suggested that both e-books and printed ones be provided more in book stores.