In recent years, more and more people tend to live individualy. What are the causes of this trend? Does this have a positive or negative effect on society?

Many people now choose to live individually, which I believe has only negative impacts on society. This essay will present some causes for this phenomenon before analysing the negative influences.

First, as some traditional individual values of family and marriage have been lost, many do not see the point of sharing lives. For example, family gatherings can be a burden rather than a cherished present that life brings about. Second, many blame the hectic modern life. The truth is that people today are just too busy to settle down with a family and all sorts of responsibilities. Last but not least, thanks to the sharing frenzy on social networking sites, many successful and seemingly happy individuals became much-trumpeted role models of this lifestyle. As stories of their wonderful life go viral, many simply consider living a single life a very fashionable choice.

I do not believe this trend is doing any good for the society as it pulls people away from one another, weakening them psychologically long before they are aware of it. Now that the concept of having a family fades away, people are more vulnerable than ever as they have no home to return in times of sickness or hardships. If a person decides to become a single parent, it is even worse as their child grows up without care and attention from both parents. Finally, from a demographic perspective, the trend takes a toll on the development of a country’s population as it slows down the process of producing new generations to replace the dying or aging generations.

Although individuals have every right to decide how they want to live their lives, I still believe in family as a place to form the wholesomeness of a human being.