Some people argue that we should do research into our family history. Others agree with the view that we should focus on the present and future generations. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that whether history or the present and future should be concentrated on is a subject of debate. While reasons can be given to justify the latter, the former is much more preferable.

On the one hand, there are strong reasons to think that the present and future development plays a more vital role in the commodity. The first prominent justification is that society is undergoing a dramatic change, including technology development which emerges as the fourth industrial revolution [ data ]. It is acknowledged that the concentration on technology help each nation not only to immediately accelerate its comparative advantage compared to other countries but also to improve the living standards of residents. Furthermore, besides technology development, there is a range of current environmental issues requiring the urgent concern of researchers rather than history. As a matter of fact, people are facing major environmental issues, including climate change, pollution, environmental degradation, and resource depletion. Also, the environment is one of the main pillars in sustainable development which is the current orientation of developed countries, and thus, obviously needs more attention from the academic world than history.

On the other hand, others would argue that history plays a pivotal role in research. Firstly, it is obvious that without history, human beings would fail to have insights into the operations of people and societies. Given the fact that history is regarded as a storehouse of information about how people and societies behave, we might use history as our laboratory of human experience which is hard to be conducted in the real world. For instance, mass elections, missionary activities, and military alliances are major aspects of society’s operation which cannot be set up as precise experiments. Secondly, history also contributes to moral understanding. This means that it helps people test their moral sense and weather adversity by studying the stories of individuals and situations in the past. These lessons not only came from the great historical man but also came from the courage, diligence, and protest of ordinary people in the past.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, although the research on the present and future generations should be conducted significantly, it appears to me that doing research on the past should not be neglected.