In recent years, through the internet, air travel, trad and popular culture, globalisation has rapidly increased. Many people believe that the increased interaction between nations through globalisation is agood thing.

Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Globalisation is shaping our world. Nations are moving closer and closer together both economically and culturally, and this opening up opportunities for rapid contact between people around the world. Recent developments in transportation and information technology mean that the world is fast becoming one big village, inhabited by people who are developing increasingly similar lifestyles. In cities across the world, the same food and shopping chains are dominating the high streets, the same films are showing in cinemas and the same music is download. Indeed, where in the world these days is it not possible to buy a can of the same soft drink? There is no doubt that globalisation has bought with it many benefits, which increasing opportunities to travel and the ability to share information to name but a few. It has therefore increased the choice for many people in both work and life as a whole. However, it is important to remember that there are negative aspects too. Globalisation has environmental implementations such as air travel and pressures on eco-system. In addition, because physical borders and boundaries are disappearing, globalisation risks depriving nations of what makes each one unique. For example, local customs and languages are slowly disappearing and small local businesses are being replaced by large multinational companies. In conclusion, I think that globalisation has the potential to create wealth and improve living standards but it has to be handled in a sustainable way. In my view, multinational companies have a responsibility to make sure this happens by focussing less on profit and doing to support local businesses and communities.