Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life.

Which do you consider to be the major influence?

It is indicated by research that our personality and development largely depends upon our inborn characteristics and not the things that we may experience in our life. However, I believe the opposite is true and I will discuss it further.

To begin with, I would say that the personality is configured by the type of upbringing we get in our childhood. We learn everything from our parents or teachers or friends in life. Our parents teach us how to talk with others and how to respect elders. All the manners and etiquettes are learnt and not innate and these tell a lot about us to others. Moreover, teachers groom us when we are in school. Apart from this, our friends also imbibe a lot of features in us. It is well-known that we get influenced by the people we have in our lives and we become just like them.

In order to reinforce my opinion, I would further say that nothing can develop us more than our experiences. Bad situations, challenges and failures teach a lot about how we should deal with them the next time they appear in our lives. They tell us about what mistakes we committed that led to our defeat and also give us an opportunity to register them in life to avoid repeating them. Needless to say, improvements are possible only if we know where we are lacking behind and by going through experiences only we can come to know about it.

To conclude, I would again say that a person’s experiences help him or her to develop the personality. People should learn from their lives and help others to grow as well.