Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

It is scientifically proven that the roots of our personality can be traced all the way back to infancy. Nonetheless, I suppose adolescence is of vital/crucial importance in developing personalities in later life. This essay will elucidate the idea.

I strongly believe that the traits that appear in teenage years are predictive of a wide range of outcomes in life including educational attainment, financial success and risk of unemployment. In reality, adolescents have to face with more difficulties such as emotional crises compared to babies. Moreover, in adolescence, they start puberty and experience hormonal and neural changes that lead to personality development.

The changes stemming from experiences in teenage years could significantly affect the temperament of children. For example, some twins who have the same conduct during their babyhood. However, when they become older, their behaviour could change by virtue of distinct environmental factors rather than genetic factors.

In conclusion, teenage years have a more major impact on personality characteristics than any period in a lifetime.