In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is widely accepted that, in this era of modernization and industrialization, rising lifetime is an irreversible trend with economic and socio-political consequences. In this essay, I will elucidate the induced problems and pertinent solutions.

Apparently, aging populations pose a challenge to the fiscal and macroeconomic stability/sustainability of many societies. The number of people in retirement age is increasing, which makes national leaders to divert public money from education and infrastructure investment into programs which aid aged citizens. In other words, it could hurt the economic growth through increased government spending on pension, healthcare, and social benefits for the elderly. Furthermore, this trend could lead to reduces in the labor force and tax revenue when people retire.

Nonetheless, there are two viable strategies that policy-makers could consider to address troubles caused by population aging. Firstly, the governors should enact a gradual retirement scheme that allows older employees to work fewer hours yet remain longer in the labor force. This is regarded as the most viable solution to fiscal pressures due to population aging. Besides, if the first strategy does not work for those who have some problems including skills mismatch and health issues, the state could encourage them to engage in volunteering, care work including preparing meals, helping the disabled, and childcare.

In conclusion, population aging carries broad implications for communities in terms of economy and social benefits. It is of importance to implement a more gradual retirement policy and facilitate their involvement in unpaid work such as volunteerism.