Some people believe that “Employers should not be concerned about the way their employees dress, but the quality of their work”. To what extent do you agree or disagree to this belief?

It is accepted that company bosses should care about the employees’ performance instead of their business attire. I partly agree with the idea. This essay will elucidate my opinion.

On the one hand, leaders should not force their workers follow a strict dress code because the majority of staff members have said that they get jobs done more efficiently when they dress in the way which they are comfortable in. Furthermore, a number of respondents to one survey have expressed that they would have a negative perception of any firm which has a strict dress code. They suppose that a uniform deters them from being productive and creative. This could lead to high staff turnover which has cost and productivity repercussions for enterprises.

On the other hand, first impressions always count. Hence, the managers should make sure that staff members look professional and approachable with formal clothes when they are in a client-facing role. In other words, when employees have a meeting with vital investors, their appearance could show their respect for their partners.

In conclusion, companies should not make their workers dress formally on a daily basis. Nonetheless, it is crucial for staff to have a professional appearance when they meet clients.