FOR SCHOOL CHILDREN, THEIR TEACHERS HAVE MORE INFLUENCE ON THEIR INTELLIGENCE AND SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT THAN THEIR PARENTS. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

It is said that, in comparison with parents, schoolteachers have more impact on children’s learning as well as the process by which teenagers learn to interact with others. In my view, I do not deny the parental involvement in their children’s intelligence and social activities, but I strongly believe in these aspects teachers affect students more than their parents.

Firstly, teachers explicitly have higher educational attainment than parents. Thus, they play a more vital role in adolescents’ academic achievements. Though parents are able to give their children private tutoring at home, there are still some scientific subjects that are beyond the scope of their basic understanding. Meanwhile, teachers with experience of schooling and having expertise in teaching can help students better with theoretical knowledge.

Secondly, In addition to teaching, educators are role models for students in communications, which in turn helps them with social skills. In fact, teachers work in educational environments so that their behaviours conform with social and ethical norms, which gives students codes of good conduct with others around them. Furthermore, interactions with family members somewhat is different from communication in society. For instance, some teenagers diagnosed with psychological problems such as autism could have a good relationship with their family but struggle to communicate with others around them.

In summary, parental engagement in children’s intelligence and social improvement is necessary but teachers impact children more substantially compared with their parents.