Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than companies. do you agree or disagree?

The question who should be in charge of conducting scientific research is open to debate. Some people think that the government should play the main role in executing and ruling scientific developments while others argue that advances in science should be fulfilled and managed by the private sector. In my opinion, people will benefit substantially more from research if it is implemented and strictly governed by the state instead of private enterprises because of the 2 main reasons.

The first reason is that the state can protect citizens from bad intention of some private companies by conducting and controlling scientific research on its own. The rationale for some private companies conducting scientific research might be that they solely want that economic benefits flowing from research accrue to themself. As a result, they could manipulate target customers by their research. For example, the company which launches a new drug publishes their research result that their own revolutionary goods can cure lung cancer, which would urge quite a few citizens to purchase their products in that people have more faith in medical research rather than what normal advertisements say. Nonetheless, no one knows if that research is conducted in a right way or the company intentionally misleads consumers so that they can increase their revenue.

Moreover, scientific developments conducted by the government allow more people to get access to so that the new research could be disseminated and replicated without limitations. Whereas, if the research implemented by the private companies, it would inhibits further research because of intellectual property regime. For example, when a multinational corporation discovers a technological advance, the government authority will grant it claims to economic benefits from its new scientific invention. This makes the price of products using that technological development higher, which is a drawback for consumers. Furthermore, if a medical company has intellectual property rights and skyrocket the price of its drug, people in poverty with health problems couldn’t buy it.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the state should carry out and govern the scientific research rather than private sector because it brings people more benefits.