Research into medical treatments are essential to improve health and fight disease. Who do you think should fund this research: individuals, private companies or governments?

Medical research and experiments are central pillars in our fight against illness and disease. Personally, I believe that the government and corporations should share the financial burden to achieve more breakthroughs in the field.

It is sensible for the government to invest in research into medical treatments. The government is indebted to its taxpayers and has an obligation to channel taxation into essential services, which encompass health care. However, investments in hospitals and facilities alone are not sustainable in the long run since the people in power are not solving the root cause of the problem. As a result, while allocating money to the national health care system, the government should also sponsor laboratories in which clinical trials and research into illness and disease are carried out. In the long run, the outcomes would be more diseases will be kept at bay thanks to the findings from the labs.

On the other hand, while publicly funded research is notorious for its inertia, privately funded one could bring yield unimaginable results. Private companies should be authorized to fund, conduct experiments in medicine and treating methods to allow more discoveries. It could ease the financial burden and spare the pressure from the public in situations where medication is in desperate and urgent need. For example, private pharmaceutical companies are given free rein to pour their money and resources in search of the cure for the COVID-19, which is a current global emergency. Even though the sought-after medicine has not brought to life yet, allowing private medical institutions into this quest at least helps to appease the public fears and anxiety since they believe that these companies would be strongly motivated by the colossal profits and global attention that their discovery could bring.

In conclusion, I believe that it is the chief responsibility of the government to finance medical research. However, private companies should be allowed to step in to make a difference.