Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

These day, holding online conferences and trainings is becoming an increasingly popular trend among businesses. Although this development may have some disadvantages, personally, I believe that it is an overall positive trend.

There are considerable benefits to conducting online business meetings, discussions and training. First of all, compared to traditional face-to-face meetings, online meetings can make it more convenient for participants because travel time is significantly reduced, which means that members can instantly attend the conference from any places through computers or smartphones connected to internet without traveling to the meeting location. As a result, this could make a great contribution to the boosting of working performance. Secondly, from an economic point of view, virtual discussions are usually relatively cheap to run, they can help companies save a large amount of expense by not having to pay for electricity bill, printed documents, traveling and equipment for organizing offline ones.

On the other hand, there are potential disadvantages to holding online conferences. The first one is that these meetings always require stable internet connection. Therefore, the slow internet connection or computer crashing can cause disruptions, which can reduce comprehension among participants. Another drawback is that people from different time zone probably find it difficult to agree on the time of the conference. For example, there is a 12 hour time difference between Vietnam and the USA, so that it is inconvenient to conduct a meeting between 2 countries at the same time. In particular, sensitive meetings relating to human matters such as grievances, disciplinary action or one-to-one meetings with employees should almost always be held face-to-face.

In conclusion, although the holding online conferences and trainings may bring some notable drawbacks, this trend could result in enormous benefits for businesses such as saving time and money. So that I certainly hold the view that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages