The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up the speed of the modern lifestyle. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Since middle of the 20th century shelves of grocery stores have been full of convenience food, which is another type of fast food that can be cooked in few minutes at home. Some people consider this type of food very helpful because it allows individuals to manage modern speed of life, however there are some people who hold conventional view that frozen food is useless.

I suppose that pros of convenience food are obvious. First of all, availability and price. Nowadays you can find whatever you want that will suit your pocket. If you are keen on Italian cuisine you can find a pizza both for 2 dollars and for 20 dollars. This also relates to other cuisines, like Russian, Kazakh and others. Further and even more importantly, I have not seen any delivery that was able to deliver my order within 30 minutes. Whereas, most of the consumers are seeking for time-saving methods and convenience food can be a solution for them. Road to the nearest store and back takes no more than 15 minutes and cooking is also less than 15 minutes, which in sum gives less than half an hour.

If we consider drawbacks of convenience food the main one is taste. No dish that was frozen and then warmed up in an oven will be more delicious than a dish just cooked by a chef. Pleasure from food is very important for many of mankind, especially for gourmands and this is a major limitation for them.

In my opinion, if you are in a hurry or have difficulties with money you can choose convenience food. However, if you have possibilities to cook your own meal yourself or go to a restaurant feel free to choose this option.

To sum up, convenience food is very helpful considering current lifestyle of major part of population, however it has some drawbacks.