The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world's cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more. Discuss possible ways to encourage the use of public transport.

Nowadays, people use more private cars, which leads to more cars on the roads, heavy traffic jams, air pollution and longer commuting periods. These problems always happen, especially in the cities. There are number of solutions which should be implemented to deal with the increases number of private cars in urban cities.

To begin with, there are some considerable solutions. One way to stimulate public transport use is to make private car use more expensive and inconvenient. For example, introduction of tolls along urban motorways has been successfully employed in many cities. Other such measures are high-priced permits for parking in urban areas and the restriction of parking to a limited number of cars. Faced with high costs or no place to park, commuters would perhaps be more willing to abandon their cars in favour of buses or trains.

The government can make laws, they can reduce the fare for buses and taxies which can attract many commuters to choose public transportation over private vehicles. There is another an outstanding policy called “Odd-Even” which has been implemented in New Delhi, by Delhi government. For example, the policy mandates private vehicles to ply based on the last digit on their number plates. Under this scheme, vehicles with number plates with odd last digit will be allowed on roads only on odd dates, while vehicles with even-last digits can be taken out only on even dates.

To Concludes, making public transport more comfortable and convenient should work to attract more commuters and decrease traffic congestion. Public transport that is convenient and comfortable retains its passengers, much like any business that satisfies its customers. The more commuters committed to taking public transport, the less congestion on the city streets.